YUGOSLAVIA  TO  CANADA
Each year, people from around the world move to Canada to begin a new life. They come with many talents and skills and the hope of contributing to their new country. Your interest in reading this profile may come from being involved in an organized HOST program, in which you have the opportunity to meet newcomers from Yugoslavia and introduce them to life in Canada. You may have Yugoslavs at your school or workplace, or in your neighbourhood. Whatever your source of interest, this profile will teach you something about Yugoslavia and the people who live there.

Yugoslavia is comprised of the republics of Montenegro and Serbia, which include the provinces of Kosovo and Vojvodina. Most Serbs and Montenegrins share a common language, religion and culture, though somewhat different histories. Serbs have been living in Canada since the 1850s; recently, many Serbs and Montenegrins have moved to Canada because of unrest in their homeland.

Yugoslavs arriving in Canada will have many of the same questions and concerns that you would have if you moved to a new country or city. They will wonder how to find work and housing, where their children will go to school, how to get around the city and how to find a doctor. You can help your new friends settle by answering their questions. You'll also find that you can learn a great deal from them.

Although this profile provides insights into some customs, it does not cover all facets of life. The customs described may not apply in equal measure to all newcomers from Yugoslavia.


  Summary Fact Sheet

  
 
Official Name Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
Capital City Belgrade
Type of Government Republic
Population 10.6 million
Area 102,350 sq. km
Major Ethnic Groups Serb, Montenegrin, Albanian, Hungarian, other Europeans
Languages Serbian, Albanian
Religions Christianity, Islam
Unit of Currency Dinar (Serbia); Euro (Montenegro)
National Flag Three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white and red
Date of Independence April 27, 2022





  Did you know?
Yugoslavs have contributed to Canadian society in many ways. Well-known Serbian-Canadians are Luigi von Kunits, a noteworthy violinist of the early 20th century, who was the founder and first conductor of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra; and Peter Zezel, a hockey player with the NHL for over a decade.

DE LA YOUGOSLAVIE AU CANADA
Chaque année, des milliers de personnes du monde entier immigrent au Canada pour y commencer une nouvelle vie. Elles arrivent avec de nombreux talents et l’espoir de pouvoir contribuer à la société qui les accueille. Que vous deviez rencontrer des Yougoslaves dans le cadre d’un Programme d’Accueil ou que vous ayez fait la connaissance de Yougoslaves au travail ou à l’école, les pages qui suivent vous aideront à mieux connaître leur pays et leur culture. 

La Yougoslavie est formée des républiques du Monténégro et de la Serbie ; celle-ci est elle-même composée de deux provinces autonomes, le Kosovo et la Vojvodine. S’ils proviennent de régions aux histoires différentes, la plupart des Serbes et des Monténégrins parlent cependant la même langue et ont la même religion et la même culture. Le Canada accueille des immigrants serbes depuis les années 1850 ; récemment, avec les événements qu’a connus le pays, Serbes et Monténégrins ont toutefois été plus nombreux à venir s’installer au Canada.
 
Les Yougoslaves qui arrivent ici se posent les mêmes questions que vous vous poseriez si vous vous établissiez dans un nouveau pays ou une nouvelle ville : comment puis-je trouver un emploi et un logement ? à quelle école dois-je envoyer mes enfants ? comment fonctionnent les transports en commun ? comment choisir un médecin ? En tentant de répondre à leurs questions, vous faciliterez non seulement leur adaptation, mais vous apprendrez aussi beaucoup d’eux.

Précisons que ce profil culturel n’offre qu’un aperçu des coutumes yougoslaves et ne prétend pas couvrir tous les aspects de la vie en Yougoslavie. Les coutumes décrites ici ne s’appliquent donc pas nécessairement aux immigrants yougoslaves que vous rencontrerez.
 
 
 
  Points du repère

Nom officiel République fédérale de Yougoslavie
Capitale Belgrade
Type de gouvernment république
Population 10 600 000 habitants
Superficie 102 350 km2
Principaux groupes ethniques Serbes, Monténégrins, Albanais, Hongrois, autres Européens
Langues serbe, albanais
Religions christianisme, islam
Unité monétaire le dinar (Serbie) ; l’euro (Monténégro)  
Drapeau national  trois bandes horizontales : bleue (en haut), blanche et rouge      
Date d'indépendence le 27 avril 1992



 

  Le saviez-vous?
De nombreux Yougoslaves ont laissé leurs marques dans la société canadienne ; parmi eux, Peter Zezel, joueur de la Ligue nationale de Hockey pendant plus de dix ans, et Luigi von Kunits, grand violoniste du début du XXe siècle, fondateur et premier chef d’orchestre de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto.