ARTS  AND  LITERATURE
While Somalia has a long musical and artistic tradition, the Somalis are most famous for being a nation of poets. Oral poetry is central to Somali life. The alliterative, highly metaphorical Somali verse form is used for communication, for preserving history and commenting on current events. Clans use poetry in reconciliation meetings; the government hires poets to praise its achievements, while the opposition uses poems for its critique.

Many Somalis can recite poems that are centuries old. Poetic combat oral contests between competing poets have always been a feature of Somali life. Traditionally, men and women have had separate poetic traditions, and only men gained prestige and political power through their skill in poetry. However, women have recently begun to compete with men in these contests. One of the most famous literary figures in Somalia is Mohammed ’Abdille Hasan, who was also a warrior and political figure.

Since the 20th century, Somalia has also produced authors who write in English, French or Italian for their works. Nurudin Farah, an acclaimed English-language novelist, writes about Somalia and connects the mythical with the local in his work. The poet and playwright Mohamed Warsame Ibrahim was jailed during the Barré regime for his politically critical writings.

Somali music combines African and Arabic influences. Traditional instruments are the shareero, a type of lyre; the kaban, a Yemenite keyboard lute; and the buun and simbaar, types of trumpets. While dancing to music is important in Somali culture, people dance mainly during ceremonies and courtship. Maryam Mursal is one of Somalia’s most famous musicians. Her first CD, Waaberi, is a collection of traditional Somali songs sung with the oud (the Arabic lute) and percussion as backup.

Somali craftsworkers make numerous items, including woodcarvings and cloth, and baskets in the Benadir region. Leather is used for items such as bags, food containers and dagger sheaths. Somali women practice hand and foot painting using henna and khidaab dyes. Women artists apply the colours in intricate styles, covering the entire hand or foot.


  Did you know?
The multilingual writer Nurudin Farah was named the 1998 Neustadt Laureate. He was the first African to receive this award, a literary prize which is considered to be secondary in prestige to the Nobel Prize for literature.

ARTS ET LITTÉRATURE
Si la Somalie possède une longue tradition musicale, les Somalis sont surtout connus comme un peuple de poètes. La poésie est en effet présente dans toutes les sphères de la vie. Très métaphorique et faisant une large part à l’allitération, la versification somalie sert à conserver l’histoire, mais aussi à communiquer dans la vie courante et à commenter sur l’actualité. Les clans l’utilisent dans les réunions de réconciliation ; le gouvernement emploie des poètes pour glorifier ses réalisations, et l’opposition, pour critiquer le gouvernement. 

De nombreux Somaliens peuvent déclamer des poèmes très anciens. Les joutes poétiques ont en effet toujours fait partie de la culture somalie. Autrefois, les hommes et les femmes avaient des traditions poétiques distinctes ; seuls les hommes pouvaient recueillir prestige et pouvoir politique par leurs talents poétiques. Les femmes commencent néanmoins à affronter les hommes dans des joutes communes. L’un des plus grands poètes de la Somalie est Mohammed Abdille Hasan, qui était aussi un guerrier et une figure politique.

Plusieurs auteurs somaliens contemporains ont écrit en anglais, en français ou en italien. Nurudin Farah est un romancier de langue anglaise très réputé qui a combiné mythes et faits de vie quotidienne dans ses œuvres. Le poète et dramaturge Mohamed Warsame Ibrahim a été emprisonné sous le régime de Barre pour avoir critiqué le gouvernement dans ses écrits.

La musique somalie est un mélange d’influences africaines et arabes. Parmi les instruments traditionnels, mentionnons le shareero (une sorte de lyre), le kaban (un luth à clavier d’origine yéménite), le buun et le simbaar (deux sortes de trompettes). La danse, quoique très importante dans la culture somali, est surtout réservée aux cérémonies et à la cour amoureuse. L’une des chanteuses somaliennes les plus connues est Maryam Mursal, dont le premier disque, Waaberi, rassemble des chants traditionnels accompagnés à l’oud (luth arabe) et aux percussions.

Sculpture sur bois et tissus font partie des productions artisanales de la Somalie. On fabrique aussi des paniers dans la région de Benadir. Le cuir est utilisé pour faire des sacs, des contenants pour la nourriture et des étuis à poignards. La peinture des pieds et des mains avec du henné ou du khidaab est une forme d’art pratiqué par les femmes ; les dessins, très complexes, couvrent entièrement les mains et les pieds. 
 

  Le saviez-vous?
L’écrivain Nurudin Farah, lauréat du prix Neustadt en 1998, est le premier Africain à avoir reçu ce prix, doté d’un prestige à peine moins grand que celui du prix Nobel de littérature