ARTS  AND  LITERATURE
Every region of Ethiopia has its own crafts and its own musical and artistic traditions. Baskets, carpets, leatherwork, wood carvings and jewellery are made in many areas of the country, but each region has distinct designs.

Musical instruments found in different regions of the country include the krar, a six-stringed lyre, and a one-stringed instrument called a massinko, which is played with a bow. Church music known as the aquaquam is played with a drum and a tsinatseil (also called a sistrum), which resembles a rattle. Modern Ethiopian music shows the influence of various international styles. Mulatu Astatke is a notable contemporary classical music and jazz composer. Telahun Gesses and Astere Awoke are popular singers. Ali Birra sings in his native Oromo and other Ethiopian languages.

Dancing is very important to most Ethiopians. The most common form is iskista, where the dancers moved their shoulders while keeping their lower bodies stationary. As they move, the dancers breathe in sharply, making a sound like iskista. They may also sing a high-pitched folk song (zefen).

Ethiopian painters developed a style of depicting religious stories in a series of panels, complete with captions. Eventually, secular artists used this style to depict everyday themes. Ethiopia has many modern artists. Afewerk Tekle, the country's greatest contemporary painter, has achieved international recognition for works such as "The Meskel Flower".

Ethiopians have a strong oral culture, which includes thousands of proverbs and stories. Stories teach morality, history and culture. Abbe Gobegna, considered one Ethiopia's best writers, focuses on Ethiopia's feudal social situation. Hadis Alemayehu's novel "Fiker Eske Mekabir" ("Love until Death") is considered a masterpiece.

Important architectural sites are the stelae of Aksum and the churches of Lalibela, located in the north. The stelae-enormous stone columns with elaborate carvings-are the most famous pieces of Ethiopian art. Placed on graves, they were believed to act as gateways for the soul to the next life. The largest one still standing is nearly 21 metres high. The medieval churches of Lalibela were built by Emperor Lalibela as a New Jerusalem. Still in use today, the 11 buildings were carved out of a huge, rectangular rock.


  Did you know?
Artisans in Ethiopia use cattle horns to make drinking mugs and shoe horns, and often use horn in lamps, vases and combs.





  Did you know?
Music is a part of all church services; even the liturgy is chanted.

ARTS  ET  LITTÉRATURE

Chaque région d’Éthiopie a une tradition musicale et artistique distincte et des formes d’artisanat qui lui sont propres, que ce soit pour la vannerie, la fabrication de tapis, le travail du cuir, la sculpture du bois ou la joaillerie.

Parmi les instruments de musique traditionnels, mentionnons le krar, une lyre à six cordes, et le massinko, instrument à une corde dont on joue avec un archet. La musique liturgique, ou aquaquam, se joue avec un tambour et un tsinatseil (ou sistrum), instrument qui ressemble à une crécelle. La musique moderne intègre des influences diverses. Mulatu Astatke est un compositeur de musique classique et de jazz reconnu. Telahun Gesses et Astere Awoke sont des chanteurs populaires célèbres. Ali Birra chante en oromo, sa langue natale et dans plusieurs autres langues éthiopiennes.

La danse occupe aussi une place importante dans les arts. La forme la plus commune de danse s’appelle iskista : les danseurs bougent leurs épaules en gardant le bas du corps immobile et émettent des « iskita » en respirant de façon saccadée. La danse peut aussi s’accompagner d’un chant traditionnel aigu appelé zefen.

Les peintres éthiopiens ont créé un style de peinture religieuse en panneaux sur lesquels apparaissent également des légendes expliquant les scènes. Ce style a été transposé à des sujets profanes touchant tous les aspects de la vie courante. Parmi les peintres contemporains les plus connus, mentionnons Afewerk Tekle, qui s’est taillé une renommée internationale avec des œuvres comme LaFleur de Meskel.

La littérature orale éthiopienne est très riche et comprend des milliers de proverbes, de contes et de fables. Ces histoires transmettent des leçons de morale, d’histoire et de culture. Abbe Gobegna, qui est considéré comme l’un des meilleurs écrivains d’Éthiopie, traite dans son œuvre de la structure féodale de la société éthiopienne. Le roman d’Addis Alemayehu, Teker Eskmekaber, est considéré comme un chef-d’œuvre.

Les stèles d’Axoum, d’immenses obélisques de pierre sculptées, sont le plus grand trésor architectural d’Éthiopie. Ces stèles, qui étaient placées sur des tombes, devaient permettre à l’âme du défunt de s’élever vers l’au-delà. La stèle la plus haute à être encore debout fait près de 21 mètres. Les églises médiévales de Lalibela, qui sont taillées dans la roche, sont tout aussi spectaculaires. Construites par l’empereur Lalibela, en tant que nouvelle Jérusalem, les onze églises de l’ensemble sont encore utilisées aujourd’hui.


  Le saviez-vous ?

Les artisans éthiopiens font des gobelets et des chausse-pieds avec des cornes de bœuf, dont ils se servent aussi pour faire des lampes, des vases et des peignes.





 Le saviez-vous ?

La musique fait partie intégrante des offices religieux ; même la liturgie est chantée.